• Categories

  • Top Rated

Necklace as a gift


bild0105 bild0107

Hi all,

I have been busy a couple off weeks. This was because I was making a present for my mother and didn’t want her to know befor I gave it to her. She was having her birthday and I wanted to make something special. She’s, just like me, crazy about crafts. So that’s why I couldn’t post something earlier. I made a necklace for her. Most of the beads I bought at a beadshop called Beadies in Amsterdam. De dark blue beads I made myself from fimoclay. Fimobeads are very simple to make.

Tools and materials

  • a beading board
  • 2 colours of fimo clay
  • fimo lacquer
  • polishing sand paper
  • oval beads
  • silver ornaments to cover holes of fimo beads
  • silver ornaments to put between the beads

Procedure

Step 1:
Make a shape out of the clay and then you put it on a knitting needle. (You also have special equipment to make the beads round available in craft shops) You can also put another colour clay through the clay so you get a marble effect. That’s what I did. I put some white clay with silver glitter in the dark blue clay.

Step 2:
If you have enough beads you lay the knitting needles on an oven scale. You put the scale in the oven and set the temperature at 130 degrees (celsius) for about 30 minutes.

Step 3:
When the baking is done, you can polish the beads with special polishing paper. Especially at the sides of the hole, so you’re necklace won’t tear apart.

Step 4:
When you’re done with that you can put some lacquer on the beads to make them shine and make the colours more intense.

My mother likes the necklace and earrings very much and was so kind to make the above pictures for me.

Carla

Leave a Reply

